Candice's Blog

: >

Reading Journal Entry (#3) From Fly-Girls to Bitches and Hoes by Joan Morgan September 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — notsoblonde016 @ 8:52 pm

Joan Morgan’s ideas about black women and men in our society are backed up with facts and evidence that supports her claims. It was an initial shock to read that a black woman was talking about feminism and sexism, majority of the time people only hear about those kind of topics from white women. Morgan however, can really relate to this subject. It was shocking to hear some of the facts she stated, some of which I had never really thought about before. She talks about how black-on-black love has decreased through the years, somewhere from what use to by 74 percent is down to 48 percent. She states that the leading cause of death among black men ages 15-24 is homicide by other black men.

One story Morgan told really stuck in my mind. She talked about how she met a lady who was having her 50th wedding anniversary, Morgan had told the lady that she was only 27 and still hasn’t settled down with anyone. The lady tells Morgan, “I feel sorry for your generation. You don’t know how to have relationships.” This statement stuck in my brain. I look around and even though I’m in a healthy relationship over 2 years strong I see many around me not experiencing the same things. I see more and more people looking for random hook-ups, and not wanting to make any sort of commitment to another person.  Thinking even more deeply on this I believe it has to do with a person’s background, my parents are still together, never divorced, been married for 20 so years now. However, a ton of my friends have divorced parents, I feel as though divorced parents children have more of a tendency to not want to be in committed relationships. Maybe because they aren’t trusting in others and don’t want to get hurt like their parents did. Maybe they think also that if there are problems in a relationship they won’t work through them and will just give up on it all together, like they don’t want to put the effort into a relationship.

 

Leave a Reply

